How To Bring a Thunderstorm (or wolf spider) To Life

She squatted next to a towering Aspen tree.  Behind her loomed the darkness of the dense deciduous forest.  In front of her lay the tall and wispy brown grasses of summer.  She squinted gazing forward.  It was difficult adjusting to the bright sun after being concealed in the gloomy shadows of the woods.  The canopy had sheltered her for so long as she hiked through the woods but finally, she reached their end and the beginning of the long meadow.  The grass was blowing in the wind.  The field looked like an ocean of gold as the grasses bent to and fro with the current of the winds.  She uncovered her eyes.  Black clouds raced in and the Aspen tree above began clapping its leaves as it answered the distant rumble in the skies.  Lightning  scraped the earth and bolted across the golden field now bending low to the ground as the thick drops of water pummeled them with force.  The thunder boomed and the lightning flashed.  She sprinted as fast as she could back into the protected woods.  The scent of wet leaves and rain filled her nostrils and her heart beat wildly.  Could it really have been so peaceful just a minute before?  Summer thunderstorms were known to hit with out a moment’s notice.  This one sure did!  The towering Maples and Oaks covered her with their extensive canopy of thick branches and leaves.  For the moment she felt safe.  She thought she would wait the storm out here….

This is just an example of the kind of writing I am doing at the moment.  I love descriptive writing.  It is perhaps the closest I can get right now to painting a landscape since we have no money for my beloved oil paints and canvasses.  What is the key?  Use all five senses and keep sentence structure varied and concise.  My next assignment will use the technique above along with incorporating nonfiction.  Writing an article of nonfiction that a young student would love to read.  I am told that is the way to get published and begin a writing career.  The opportunities for writing non fiction are limitless and it does not exclude creativity.  So what to write about?  Just yesterday I was helping a young cousin find bugs for an identification project she is required to do for school.  We found a Wolf spider in the bottom of our pool and decided to pull it up and use it.  In case you don’t know, I am incredibly squeamish when it comes to spiders.  Brown fat abdomens.  Eight creepy little black eyes.  Fangs.  Spindly legs.  No thanks.  Even though it’s lifeless brown stripped body and it’s long legs were obviously far from moving, I still found myself grossed out.  Goosebumps ran up and down my arms and legs!  How silly.  I am 24, have birthed two babies (one without pain medication) and am confronted with yucky things all day long that most people would rather not touch.  How could this harmless dead bug creep me out?  We brought him in and extended his legs to ready him for pinning.  We thought it a good idea to let him dry out.  As I pulled one leg forward to fashion him in his “natural” pose, it moved…just a little.  ‘Oh,” I thought.  ‘It must just be nerve impulses still running through his nervous system.’  Totally normal.  20 minutes later Bec and I came to check on him.  I moved him once again with a stick to fashion him to a piece of card board and YUCK!!!  He moved!!!  But wait!   Wasn’t he just dead??  So not only is this Wolf spider creepy as a dead bug, he is the Frankenstein of Wolf spiders!!  So anyways, to make a long story short I think my next piece of literature will deal with wolf spiders.  Why are they called “wolf” spiders?  What would a 12-year old want to learn about one?  This is my next project.  So, what I thought was just a plain old science project ended up inspiring me to learn more too.  As gross as they are, I am intrigued.  And thus begins my search.  I hope I can make this article as vivid as the sketch written above and as intriguing as my experience with Frankenstein Wolf spider.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

