Saturday night’s dinner

So, this past Saturday August and I went shopping with the girls.  We usually always opt to go shopping as a family only because I do not often choose to take both girls out by myself.  It’s just too challenging for me right now considering going out means cutting into one of the girls’ nap time hour.  The result?  Possibly one cranky baby or another quite cranky toddler who likes to grab everything she sees off the store shelves.  If you were to over hear the conversation between Grace and I at the store, it would go something like this:

Grace: “I want dis one! I want dis one!”  She’ll say as she so swiftly grabs something she likes.

Me: “No no sweet heart, mommy doesnt’ need that one….let’s put it back.”

Anyways, so we went out together.  I love it.  I love getting out and I feel safe with the girls not being outnumbered.  We spent most of our time at Kroger.  Afterwards, we headed over to the Asian Food Market behind Taste of Thai.  I had never been there, but Leah often goes there for spring roll paper and I was looking for wanton wrappers and figured that would be a good place to get them.  Why on earth would I need wanton paper?  I was making homemade ravioli.

The first challenge was trying to find my way around the store.  Where would one store wanton paper?  A sweet woman showed me the way.  It was so cute.  I asked for help and instead of just pointing me into the right direction, she very kindly walked me to the location and showed me all the different kinds of wanton wrappers I could use.  Sweet.  You can find them in the freezer section.

At home I began making my newest craving.  Pumpkin Ravioli.  With 15 oz. of white beans pureed along with pure pumpkin puree, ricotta cheese, Parmesan and garlic all mixed together nicely in my handy food processor, I created my filing.  Easy.  I then grabbed my beloved cutting board.  I cannot say how many times I use this tool in my kitchen.  I laid the wanton wrappers flat on the cutting board and then placed about a tsp. of filling right in the middle.  I then used a beaten egg mixed with a tbs. of water to glue the paper shut as I folded it and shaped it to look like a ravioli.

I then boiled my water.  Carefully, I inserted my little creations into the boiling water.  They rose to the top of the pot within minutes.  To finish the deal, top with your favorite marinara sauce and enjoy.  This was SO delicious and was a wonderful way to use pumpkin.  So it was fun and we enjoyed something new to our pallets.  Grace and Anya both gobbled these up and they are a wonderful way to sneak in extra fiber and vitamins into an already beloved dish.   I suggest you give it a try!  It’s easy…really.

 

Pumpkin Ravioli

Makes 36 ravioli

1 can (15 oz) low-sodium white beans, such as navy, drained and rinsed.

1/2 cup canned 100% pure pumpkin puree

1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese

1/4 cup grated Parmesan

3/4 tsp. garlic powder

1 large egg

72 wonton wrappers, about 12 oz.

1tbs. cornstarch

1 and a half cups jarred marinara sauce

 

1.  Fill large stock pot with water and bring to boil.  Place beans, pumpkin puree, ricotta, Parmesan, and garlic powder into food processor.  Process until smooth.

2.  In small bowl, beat egg with about 1 tbs. water.

3.  Set wonton wrappers on cutting board.  Place 1 tsp. of pumpkin mixture onto wrapper.  Brush edges with egg wash.  Neatly fold it and press firmly on the edges to seal.

4.  Place ravioli on baking sheet sprinkled with cornstarch.  When all ravioli are cut out, carefully place them into boiling water using a slotted spoon.  As soon as they rise (about 4 minutes) lift out with slotted spoon.  Top each portion with sauce and enjoy!

 

 

Seriously…yum!

Leave a Reply

