Giving Thanks

Today is Thanksgiving.  Long ago, puritans who had settled in this county had come from an oppressive government who cared nothing about individual worship of our Savior.  Merely speaking if you did not claim the religion of the King or Queen you were in trouble and could not worship and give thanks as you wanted.  Today, about 300 years later, our nation should be giving thanks for the land God set forth for us, to give thanks to a God who provides even in great hardship with family, shelter, and food.  Today, I am so thankful!

God has given us much to be grateful for.  I have a family who loves me and cherishes me.  I have a husband who leads us and provides for us well.  I am surrounded by love.  I have been blessed.  I am just so very thankful for the children God saw fit to place in our care.  I am so very thankful that I have fellowship with other believers in the Church (who is the body of Christ).   Most importantly, I am so very thankful for the life Christ gave so that I could live to worship and thank Him for His sweet, loving, and tender mercies.  I am thankful for the cross and that in His crucifixion my sin was nailed to the cross so that I could come to God through Christ to lay down my burdens before Him and live as a free individual.  I have the freedom to love Him and know He has washed me.  I have the freedom to seek Him in His scriptures and be led by Him, the Great Shepherd.  I have the freedom to teach my children that even though I was fallen (and still am), even though I ran from God and sought to deny Him, even though I hated Him, He loved me.  He pursued me.  He showed Himself to me and called me His own.  Praise God from whom all blessings flow!  Truly, to live freely is to love and be loved by God our  Father.  I am so thankful today for all He has done and is doing for me, for August, for Grace and Anya.

 

Leave a Reply

