Chocolate Applesause Cake

I keep thinking about how much I actually love baking.  When all is quite it is a wonderful way to rest my mind.  It’s just relaxing!  Recently, the mood struck me to whip out my non-stick bake ware, a few colorful mixing bowls and some yummy ingredients-like chocolate ingredients.  Trouble is I can’t find the time to do it because I’m just too busy during the day chasing two kids around!  I wanted to do it while the girls were napping today, but I just didn’t get around to it.  I actually read instead…relaxing enough (reading is SO wonderful to me).  Now that the girls are sleeping I still can’t bring myself to want to bake because of how late it is.  I’m tired!  But I want the warm chocolaty goodness in my tummy so badly!  What can a girl do?

Trouble is now is since August is not here at all this week I absolutely detest grocery shopping by myself with the two girls.  It’s just a bit hectic and since they are both so young hauling them around is a lot of work on my own.  So, in my fridge I have no milk or cream.  I was wondering how I could bake a cake without it.  That’s when the thought struck.  A few months ago when I was preparing my oldest daughter’s birthday cake my mom suggested putting in applesauce because I had run out of yogurt (which that particular recipe called for).  I got to wondering if I could just use only applesauce as a substitute for cream or dairy products.  Google says yes you can!  In celebration of August coming home tomorrow (yes finally) I hope to have this for him.  We’ll see how it goes.

Here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Applesauce Cake

1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 3/4 cups sugar, divided
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
3 large eggs, separated and at room temperature
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour  (spelt is what I have and thus what I will be using)
1/2 cup cocoa powder
1½ tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 1/3 cups unsweetened applesauce

I also have some m&m’s I might try inserting into this cake.  Could give it a little pizazz!

Directions

  • Preheat the oven to 350F and line two 9-inch round cake pans with parchment paper. Grease the pans and the paper well.
  • In a large bowl, whisk together the oil, 1 cup of sugar, vanilla extract and 3 egg yolks until smooth.
  • In another large bowl, sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt.
  • In a medium bowl, beat the egg whites until foamy at low speed. Turning the mixer up to medium-high, gradually blend in the remaining 3/4 cup sugar and keep beating until the egg whites reach soft peaks. Set aside for the moment.
  • Alternating additions, blend dry ingredients and applesauce into the oil mixture. Start and end with additions of dry ingredients and mix only until no streaks of flour remain. Stir in 1/3 of the egg whites to lighten up the batter. Fold in remaining egg whites in two or three additions, mixing only until no streaks of egg white remain and color is uniform.
  • Divide batter evenly into prepared pans.
  • Bake for 30 to 35 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

Turn cakes out onto a wire rack and remove parchment circles, then allow them to cool completely before frosting.

I’ll let you know how it turns out.  If your asking me though it sounds like it will be good.  (A few days later)  IT WAS DELICIOUS.  Personally I loved finding the m&m’s in it. They were a delightful surprise.  I suggest you give this recipe a try!

Leave a Reply

