We did it!

Yesterday I decided to begin potty training Grace.  I believe she is definitely ready for it.  After countless diaper changes Grace is now understanding what it means to go pee pee on the potty!  After waking up the first thing I told her was, “Grace, Gracie doesn’t need a diaper any more!  Diapers are for babies, like Anya, but not for Gracie.   Grace is going to go pee pee on froggy potty!”  I tried to sound as excited as I could even though deep in my mind I was really thinking oh great here we go…and…do I really know how to potty train?  YIKES!!!! First, Grace did go pee pee in her pants several times and even went poo poo as well.  Each time she would say, “oh no Gracie pee peed!”  I felt so discouraged! Maybe I should try this another time!  I don’t know what the heck I’m doing and I’m not really in the mood for cleaning up unnecessary messes right now! But then I heard a sweet little voice coming from her room saying, “Mommy, I gotta pee pee!”  We quickly scuffled together in to the bathroom and plopped her on her cute fisher price froggy potty and I never thought I’d see the day, but she did it!!  Just a matter of hours after beginning the process and she made the connection!!  So today we are repeating the potty training process.  I am so excited and so proud of her.  It is so wonderful to watch all the mile stones you go through with your child but this time I felt like it was a mile stone for me too.  I do know how to potty train!  YAY!

 


Leave a Reply

