Pumpkin Muffins

So I’ve got the baking urge yet again and why not make a mess since our house is already a mess? Just over the past few days August and I have been rearranging furniture and since he is currently working it remains a mess. I don’t organize his things because if I do, neither of us will ever see them again. So while I wait for him to put books on shelves and boxes back in closets I decided to bake something…perhaps to warm our bellies since it’s absolutely freezing outside and who wouldn’t enjoy a warm pumpkin muffin while organizing?

I found this recipe on pickycook.com.  First of all, since we are watching our budget, we do not stock our fridge with heavy cream and most recipes I found use this ingredient.  Pickycook.com uses everything I already have.  I’m not much a fan of random trips to the grocery store to indulge random cravings so this recipe is perfect.

Step number one is to bake my pumpkin.  I didn’t want to assume it was still o.k to eat since we’ve had them since Halloween, but I found that you can tell if it’s bad by poking it and it’s mushy.  Ours is not.  So, I will cut our very large, rotund orange ball of goodness in half and plop in on a cookie sheet with a little water and bake it in the oven for two hours; or until the pulp is soft.

Once the pumpkin is done you’ll need to puree the pulp. That’s your golden ticket and the most important ingredient in this recipe!

Here is the recipe:

-to create some super serious and delicious pumpkin muffins with honey and spelt:
 

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (we use spelt flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 cup canned solid-pack pumpkin (from a 15 ounce can)
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon pumpkin-pie spice
2 teaspoon cinnamon – divided
pinch nutmeg
1 1/4 cups plus 1 tablespoon sugar (or honey)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt

“Whisk together pumpkin, oil, eggs, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 1/4 cups sugar, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl until smooth, then whisk in flour mixture until just combined.

Stir together 1 teaspoon cinnamon and remaining 1 tablespoon sugar in another bowl.

Divide batter among muffin cups (each should be about three-fourths full), then sprinkle tops with cinnamon-sugar mixture.

Bake until puffed and golden brown and wooden pick or skewer inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.

Cool in pan on a rack five minutes, then transfer muffins from pan to rack and cool to warm or room temperature.”

I also read that pumpkin goes very well with warm spices such as curry.  We are eating Chicken curry this evening and I figured it would be a great compliment on our ever so salivating tongues.  Good food is worth working for in my opinion!

Cheers and Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

