Kitchen Amazing

DSCN4121

Alright so there are a few things I want to talk about this morning, both having to do with pinterest!  In case you didn’t know, I am now on pinterest (probably the last person to join ever).  You can find me here!

In case you were not familiar with our little farm-house; we live in just that.  A cute and slightly neglected white farm-house from the early 1930’s.  August and I are both people who love historical houses.  But we don’t own this one.  We’re just renting…for now.  From the beautiful vintage molding which frames every door, to the old-fashioned door knobs (some of which are crystal) to the high 9 foot ceilings, we fell in love with it and knew it would accommodate our family.  Two adults, three chill’uns.  Now the kitchen is another story.  It’s not horrible, but it’s old and outdated…I’m thinking 1960’s or 1970’s was its last update.  Old oak cabinetry with greasy western looking handles.  Some drawers are falling apart and the appliances….OH the appliances.  Ugly black and white electric stove (lame) and ancient refrigerator.  No vintage charm.  Just old.  So I was pleasantly inspired by this pinterest post which led to a quick google search.

afbf270f2532f4971c7df6e34ca140f4Now this is what I’m talking about!  If you don’t really know me you should soon know that I LOVE that light blue/minty green color.  I am drawn to its soothing and happy hues!  It’s light enough to make it easy with blending other colors (oranges, pinks, purples, even greens…not to mention it’s the perfect accent color for all the neutral shades…browns, whites, grays..).  I just love it.  Stainless steel appliances are nice but a bit trendy…a little too trendy for  me.  EVERYONE is using them for their kitchen appliances.  While I admit I would readily take one in place of what I have now…there’s just no individual character to them.  A little company called “Big Chill” is where you can find these babies….in several colors!  What a fun way to update and bring character into your kitchen!  I think I’d wake up happy every morning coming into a kitchen with such happy appliances.  I am in the kitchen all day every day.  From cleaning, washing, to feeding hungry mouths-cooking IS my day job.  I take pride in providing wholesome (literally) organic meals to bring health and stability to my family.  I cherish them.  So why not make my day job a fun day job?!  So just wishing…and dreaming…and waiting…BUT someday i will have these!! 🙂 (or at least I hope).

Now the other thing I wanted to write about.  August is an amazing cook!  The Napotniks are food critics to no end.  Not bad critics….they are constantly seeking ways to improve the meals they eat and to share those creations with each other.  They all take pride in being able to cook something themselves from scratch and then being able to talk about the subtle flavors each piece exudes…and how it pairs to wine or chocolate.  🙂

So this morning I came across a pin of a meal using Pillsbury dough, in essence highly genetically modified (altered in a lab somewhere) wheat and highly processed.  Lots of preservatives (i.e chemicals).  August saw the photo and was inspired to make these!

DSCN4210Now I don’t want to come across as bragging….organic ingredients can be expensive.  But in their defense, would you rather spend that expense on wholesome food with few ingredients or on a hospital bill later because your body can only take so much attack from chemicalized food?

Here’s the recipe!  Try them!

Four organic (aluminum free) tortillas quartered.

10 eggs

1/3 cup of spelt flour (for binding)

1/4 cup of milk

jalapenos, onions, salt and pepper to your liking

nitrate free bacon

sharp british cheese! (added emphasis on british for fun)

Directions:

Beat all ingredients together.

Place each quartered tortilla in a cupcake tin.

Fill “tortilla bowl” with egg mixture.

Bake at 350 for 22 minutes.

Make sure your pans are buttered “real good!”

Serve immediately topped with salsa, black beans and sour cream.

Oh man so good!

And there ya have it!  Two morning inspirations!

DSCN4207

Leave a Reply

