the good fight…

Does anyone else out there have trouble with a three year old fighting bedtime and naptime SO much?  Well I do.  I find myself continually looking for ways to make bedtime NOT a battle.  I feel like I’ve tried everything in the book.  Nothing seems to work with my child.  There’s this little thought in the back of my  head that says maybe it’s time for her to drop her nap and make bedtime a little earlier.  I keep ignoring it, but then we keep having these battles.  I tried separating my daughters hoping that different rooms would provide less distractions.   Didn’t work.  I’ve tried special napping toys.  Didn’t work.  I’ve tried twinkle lights to help her not be afraid…didn’t work.  I put them back in the same room….not working.  I am using a sticker chart so that maybe positive reinforcement will work…it’s working for naptime…but then BEDTIME is a nightmare again….is she getting too much sleep or is she sleep deprived?  I can’t tell!  Honestly I know this all sounds extremely inconsistent.  When you’re the parent with the willful child please tell me you dont’ get a little desperate???  Is it temperment?  Does she really not need as much sleep as the others??  IF she doesn’t nap then how will I rest during the day? 

So there’s that thought in the back of my mind again…take away the nap.  I’ll have to get back to you on that one!! 

 

Leave a Reply

