The Percheron Field Day

Today was the percheron field day in Weyers Cave. Every local farmer who had them or showed them brought them together and showed them off to the public. If you don’t know what a percheron is, then you would have been enamored by the sheer size of these horses. Beautiful muscular bodies, thick arched necks, gigantic bones and minimal feathering around the feet with short cropped tails. We saw mostly blacks and whites…and I happened to spot one dapple gray although (my favorite) I wasn’t able to get a picture of him. We spent the morning wandering around petting them, taking lots of pictures, watching them pull a plough the old fashioned way and upturn a field. The girls were excited and a little frightened. Overall, it was such a fun day and during one hayride I was brought back to my childhood and my sense of desire to have horses for my own children to grow up with when I smelled that delicious smell that only a horse smells like. A little like hay, a little like sweat, a little like wool, a little like leather. I don’t think there’s anything in the world that smells sweeter to me!

IMG_1045

My oldest, Grace, was very excited.

IMG_1055

Leo has no idea that his great great great grandfather was a champion percheron breeder. His stallion, “Liberty,” sold for the most money a horse had ever gone for in his time and made it into the Guinness records. My great great grandfather’s farm eventually went out of business because of a little machine invented known to us as the tractor.

IMG_1066

You don’t see Anya in these photos because she was clinging to my leg the whole time.

IMG_1061

IMG_1079 copy

How they ploughed not too long ago! He has three horses tied together and the man sits behind them in a little seat situated above the actual plough.

IMG_1088

So beautiful.

One thought on “The Percheron Field Day

  1. Pingback: in napotnik style

Leave a Reply

