the super food anti-cough syrup

Image

Garlic is a super food in my opinion.  It is a potent antiviral and antibacterial.  As a mother and one whom is especially protective of her little ones (who isn’t?), I want to give them the best head start in this life.  One that supports their little immune systems and will help their bodies to overcome infection on their own.  I believe in medicine when it’s needed. But I try not to use drugs unless they are absolutely needed.  

Last week my children came down with a cold.  No biggy.  But the cold has been an upper respiratory one and my girls have been coughing horribly during the night.  This means I’m extremely tired because I’ve been getting up with them and last night, it was almost every hour.  So, you might say I’m a little desperate.  I stumbled upon this recipe from a fellow blogger and mother, The Imperfect Homemaker. 

With all this being said, I don’t think sickness is something to be afraid of.  Too often worried mothers jump the gun, have their kids guzzle Tylenol and chemical laden cough syrups all too soon to discover that they aren’t helping their children’s bodies in the long run.  Those things may provide instant relief but I want encourage mothers around me to educate themselves with natural remedies first.  I will admit, if my child is struggling and needs a little help I’ll give a dose of Tylenol.  But never without first giving something natural first.  God made our bodies to fight.  He provided a rich abundance of resources on this good earth to aid the body to in doing its job.  

So here’s the recipe again, if your child is coughing and needs a little help.

the super food anti-cough syrup

2 cloves of garlic, pressed;

1 Tablespoon of raw honey (not heated above 118 degrees and is full of anti-viral and anti-bacterial properties).

1 Tablespoon of freshly squeezed lemon juice.

Mix all the ingredients together and let them sit and blend for a few minutes.

Wash down with a drink of water.

Repeat every 1-2 hours as needed.

If your kids aren’t familiar with doing things like this the taste might be a shocker.  I usually bring out the saleswoman inside of me and say things like, “Ok, mommy made you a special honey syrup!  Drink it quick to make the coughs go away!”  It usually works and then they’ll make their faces but I’ll praise them and make a big deal about how brave they were for taking their “umckas.”  An endearing term we call our natural home remedies. 

I’m not a hippie or a drug o’phobic…I just happen to believe in the power of using food to heal the body.  Hope this is a helpful post since we are in the season of colds!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

